About the Program of the Year Award and Winners


IaCMA’s Annual Awards program honors creative contributions to professional local government management and increases public awareness of the value of professional management to the quality of life in our communities.  The Program of the Year Award is presented to a local government and its chief administrator in recognition of an innovative and successful program. 


In 2006, IaCMA’s Awards Evaluation Panel, with approval from the IaCMA Executive Board, developed the Program of the Year Award.  To be considered for the Program of the Year Award, the local government’s chief administrator must be a full (voting) IaCMA member*.  Local governments must limit their nominations to no more than two programs in a single category.  Each program nomination must be independent and cannot be a component of another program.  Eligible programs must be:


  • Administered under the authority of one or more governmental entities, with only limited outside assistance from experts/consultants
  • Currently be in operation and have been fully implemented within the last 3 years.
  • Must demonstrate tangible results

Program of the Year Award Winners


Harlan/Shelby County Unified Law Enforcement - 2024


Cedar Rapids: Sustainable Solutions Innovation Program - 2022


Marshalltown: Police and Community Team - 2021

Mason City: River City Renaissance - 2020

Bondurant: Ultra High Pressure Program - 2019


Elkhart: Source Water Protection Plan - 2018


Des Moines: Speak up DSM - 2017


Newton: Get to Know Newton - 2015

Newton: A Comprehensive Plan - 2014

Norwalk: City-School Partnership - 2013

North Liberty: Paperless Packets - 2012

Windsor Heights: Takin' it to the Streets - 2010

Windsor Heights: Colby Park Playground - 2008